OKU selects new student, faculty members

okuSubmitted by: Dr. Ronald Watson

The Xi Omicron Chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon at the University of Florida College of Dentistry announced the new nominees for membership at the American Student Dental Association banquet on April 6, 2013.

Omicron Kappa Upsilon was founded in 1914 by Dean G.V. Black at the Northwestern University School of Dentistry with a mission to organize and fund a national dental honor society similar to other honor societies and would consist of dental students exclusively and be based on scholarship and character.

The Xi Omicron Chapter at the University of Florida College of Dentistry was founded in 1974 and is a component chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon. Each year the active membership selects ten senior student members based on scholarship, and high moral and ethical character. In addition, two new faculty members who have distinguished themselves in our profession are also nominated.

The ten new students nominees for 2013 are Melissa Alfonso, Caitlin Buchanan, Jorge del Valle, Laura Gioia, Nicholas Mann, Angela McNeight, Jocelynn Ortega, Christopher Shannon, Tavis Sisson and Cara Weldon.  The two faculty members nominated are Dr. Rosalia Rey and Dr. Luisa Echeto.

Xi Omicron Chapter also honors a third-year student with the William S. Kramer Award of Excellence that is based on scholarship and outstanding contributions to our college and the potential for advancement of the dental profession.  This year’s recipient of the Kramer Award is Chelsea Brinkman.

In addition, Xi Omicron Chapter recognizes a student from each of the four classes with an Ethics Award.  These students are nominated and selected by their classmates.  This year we are honoring Phu Van from the Class of 2013, Keith Kiskaddon from the Class of 2014, Matthew McAndrews from the Class of 2015 and Sagir Patel from the Class of 2016.

Each of these outstanding individuals will be formally recognized at Xi Omicron’s annual formal Convocation Dinner at the Hilton Hotel and Conference Center on May 16, 2013.