Dental Students Pick Up Awards at AADOCR

Group picture from the 2022 AADOCR Annual Meeting
The Gators’ student contingent at the 2022 AADOCR Annual Meeting alongside Dr. Jane Weintraub & Dr. Jacques Nör, incoming and outgoing AADOCR president, respectively.

UF College of Dentistry students shined at the 2022 American Association of Dental, Oral and Craniofacial Research, or AADOCR, Annual meeting at the end of March at the Georgia World Congress Center in Atlanta, Georgia.

Florida dental students swept four awards this year, including two travel grants, and a research fellowship and research competition win for DMD/PhD candidate Natalie Atyeo.

The Gators took a moment at the exhibition hall to pose with Dr. Jacques Nör, 2021-22 president of the AADOCR, and Dr. Jane Weintraub, incoming 2022-23 president of the AADOCR, to cap off a fantastic educational week in Atlanta.

AADOCR Bloc Travel Grant

The AADOCR received funding from the National Institutes of Health – National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research to support travel for dental students and NIDCR supported trainees to the AADOCR Annual Meeting & Exhibition for presentation of scientific papers on dental research. Recipients were selected to receive funds based on the quality of the abstract selected for presentation. Congratulations to two Gators who were recipients of the 2022 grant:

  • Seung Jin Jang, DMD/PhD candidate
  • Naeem Motlagh, DMD Class of 2022

AADOCR Student Research Fellowship

The AADOCR Student Research Fellowships encourage dental students living in the United States to consider careers in oral health. The Fellowships are supported by the American Academy of Periodontology, Colgate Oral Pharmaceuticals, P&G Professional Oral Health, Crest + Oral-B, Dentsply Sirona, GlaxoSmithKline, and AADOCR Group Chapters, Sections, and members.

Atyeo was one of 21 students to receive a student research fellowship during opening ceremonies of the 2022 AADOCR meeting March 23.

  • Natalie Atyeo, DMD/PhD candidate

NSRG 411 Rapid Research Competition Winner

The AADOCR National Student Research Group began offering the 411 Rapid Research Competition in 2019 as an opportunity for pre-doctoral dental students to grow their ability to communicate their science to a non-scientific audience. Student competitors have four minutes and one slide to explain their research. The students are then asked on question. Hence the name, 411. The award consists of two categories, basic science and clinical/public health, and applicants are judged by NSRG officers.

Congratulations to Atyeo for picking up third place, and a $250 award, in the basic science category this year.

  • Third place, $250 award: Natalie Atyeo, Epigenetic control of FOXQ1 expression during oral viral infection