Teachers of the Year: Bauman & Ensz

Eric Bauman
Eric Bauman, D.M.D., M.S.

Congratulations to the 2021-22 winners of the UF College of Dentistry Teachers of the Year: Eric Bauman, D.M.D., M.S., and Olga Ensz, D.M.D., M.P.H.

Bauman, a clinical assistant professor in the Operative Division of the Department of Restorative Dental Sciences, was selected as the Clinical Sciences Teacher of the Year. Ensz, a clinical assistant professor in Community Dentistry & Behavioral Science, was selected as the Basic & Behavioral Sciences Teacher of the Year.

Each year the sophomore, junior and senior students vote to select the Teachers of the Year, recognizing their excellence, innovation and effectiveness in teaching of the dental sciences.

Bauman joined the college in August 2021 as a clinical assistant professor, bringing 13 years of education and professional experience in dentistry with an emphasis on adhesive dentistry and the evolving digital marketplace.

Olga Luaces
Olga Luaces, D.M.D., M.P.H.

Ensz, who graduated with the UF DMD Class of 2015, received a 2018 American Dental Education Association/African American Latina/o, or ADEA/AAL, Faculty of Color Tuition Scholarship for Professional Development.

Bauman and Ensz receive a $2,000 cash award and a trophy, their names will be added to a plaque in Room D3-3, and they’ll be honored at a reception with UF President Kent Fuchs in the spring.