Scott Tomar Receives 2019 AADR Jack Hein Public Service Award

Photo of Dr. Scott Tomar
Dr. Scott Tomar

The American Association for Dental Research, or AADR, announced UF College of Dentistry’s Scott L. Tomar, D.M.D., M.P.H., Dr.P.H., as the 2019 recipient of AADR Jack Hein Public Service Award. Tomar was recognized at the Opening Ceremonies of the 97th General Session & Exhibition of the International Association for Dental Research, or IADR, held in conjunction with the 48th Annual Meeting of the AADR and the 43rd Annual Meeting of the Canadian Association for Dental Research, or CADR.

The IADR/AADR/CADR General Session & Exhibition is taking place at the Vancouver Convention Centre West Building in Vancouver, BC, Canada this week from June 19-22, 2019.

Tomar is a professor in the Department of Community Dentistry and Behavioral Science at UFCD, and was recently appointed Director of Institutional Analysis and Evaluation at the college in March. He also holds affiliate faculty appointments in the College of Public Health and Health Professions’ Department of Epidemiology and the College of Medicine’s Department of Health Outcomes and Policy.

Among his major research interests are understanding and eliminating disparities in oral health, tobacco epidemiology and community-based prevention of oral disease. Tomar served as chair of the Exposure Subgroup for the International Agency for Research on Cancer 2007 monograph on smokeless tobacco and related nitrosamines, contributed to six reports of the U.S. Surgeon General on tobacco and was a lead author on the National Cancer Institute/Centers for Disease Control and Prevention report Smokeless Tobacco and Public Health: A Global Perspective.

Tomar has more published more than 150 journal articles and book chapters and serves as a consultant for numerous governmental agencies and professional organizations, including the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and the American Dental Association. He is the Immediate Past Chair of the American Public Health Association’s Oral Health Section and has served as President of the American Association of Public Health Dentistry and President of the IADR Behavioral, Epidemiologic and Health Services Research Group.

The AADR Jack Hein Public Service Award honors individuals who have given exemplary service in the area of public affairs by consistently promoting the interests and activities of oral health research to a wide constituency. Read the AADR’s release.