2019 Spotlight on Dental Education

Dr. Micaela Gibbs and Dr. Annetty Soto
Dr. Micaela Gibbs and Dr. Annetty Soto

The University of Florida College of Dentistry hosted its third annual Spotlight on Dental Education reception Tuesday, April 9, at the UF Biomedical Sciences Building on the UF Academic Health Center campus.

Spotlight on Dental Education recognizes the many faculty, staff, residents and students who contribute to making the University of Florida College of Dentistry educational programs great – from our educators to senior tutors to teaching assistants and a number of committees that keep the educational wheels turning in the college.

Awards were presented during the reception. In addition to the traditional clinical and basic and behavioral sciences Teacher of the Year Awards, all tutors from the Class of 2019 were recognized, as well as members of two committees: the Student Performance Evaluation Committee and the Curriculum Committee.

The college additionally awarded three exemplary teaching awards and three sustained exemplary teaching awards. To view photos from the event, visit the photo album on the college’s Facebook page.

Congratulations to those honored!

Sustained Exemplary Teaching Award Recipients

  • Marcelle Nascimento, D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D.
  • Arthur Nimmo, D.D.S., FACP
  • Patricia Pereira, D.D.S., Ph.D.

2019 Sustained Exemplary Teaching Award Recipients

Exemplary Teaching Award Recipients

  • Annetty Soto, D.M.D.
  • Olga Luaces, D.M.D., M.P.H.
  • Panagiotis Zoidis, D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D.

2019 Exemplary Teaching Award Recipients

2019 Teachers of the Year

Delgado, Cohen Teachers of the Year 2019

Clinical Sciences Teacher of the Year

  • Alex J. Delgado, D.D.S., M.S.

Basic and Behavioral Sciences Teacher of the Year

  • Donald M. Cohen, D.M.D., M.B.A., M.S.

2019 Senior Tutors

While the faculty members are at the forefront of educating dental students and residents, peer learning, including tutors and teaching assistants, are critical in supplementing the formal curriculum through the peer tutoring program at the college. Listed below are our senior D.M.D. students who participated as tutors.

2019 Senior Tutors

  • Byron Amador
  • Jessica Artille
  • Patricia Barros
  • Pamela Brandao
  • Tanner Brunnworth
  • Cindy Castillo
  • Lester Castillo
  • Nhung Dao
  • Monica Freifeld
  • Mina Ghorbani
  • Coty Granatosky
  • Victoria Gonzalez
  • Yandy Gonzalez
  • Jasdeep Guram
  • Gabrielle Klatt
  • Jamisen Kohlman
  • Joey Lanzi
  • Long Nguyen
  • Krunal Pachigar
  • Jeremiah Patrick
  • Casandra Perez
  • Raul Perez
  • Daniel Popper
  • Olga Saniukovich
  • Claire Sayoc
  • Aria Sharma
  • Greta Smidt
  • Nicole Swanson
  • Vadim Vankov
  • Christine Volkmer
  • Bei Wright

Student Performance Evaluation Committee (SPEC) Members

Members of SPEC assess student academic and conduct performance, including meeting regularly after hours as volunteers.

2019 SPEC

  • Neel Bhattacharyya, B.D.S, D.D.S., M.S.
  • Luisa Cassiano, D.D.S., M.S.
  • Cal Dolce, D.D.S., Ph.D.
  • Stephen Howard, D.M.D., FAGD
  • Cesar Migliorati, B.D.S., M.S., Ph.D.
  • John Neubert, D.M.D., Ph.D.
  • Patty Probert, Ph.D.
  • Joseph Riley, Ph.D.
  • Student member: Tanesha Williams

Curriculum Committee Members

Ownership and responsibility of the D.M.D. program curriculum resides solidly in the hands of the faculty: content, sequence, methods and assessment of student learning are all faculty-driven responsibilities at the UF College of Dentistry.

2019 Curriculum Committee

  • Robert Caudle, Ph.D.
  • Gail Childs
  • Alex J. Delgado, D.D.S., M.S.
  • Saulo Geraldeli, D.D.S., Ph.D., M.S.
  • Micaela Gibbs, D.D.S., M.H.A.
  • Margeaux Johnson
  • Olga Luaces, D.M.D.
  • Sarah Meyers
  • Cesar Migliorati, B.D.S., M.S., Ph.D.
  • Leda Mugayar, D.D.S.
  • Marianella Natera, D.M.D., M.D.S.
  • Annetty Soto, D.M.D.
  • Student members: Rick Patel, Adam Tow

DMD Class of 2019 Officers

The class officers play an important role in leading their class and also acting as liaisons between administration and their class. The college is grateful for the time these students spend as leaders while also juggling the demands of dental school.

  • Claire Sayoc, President
  • Aria Sharma, Vice President
  • Christine Adams, Secretary
  • Daniel Popper, Treasurer