Spotlight on Dental Education Day

The University of Florida College of Dentistry hosted its first ever Spotlight on Dental Education day Wednesday, February 8, complete with a luncheon and evening awards reception on the UF campus. A longtime idea by Venita Sposetti, D.M.D., associate dean for education, finally became a reality – and a new tradition – with the support of Dean A. Isabel Garcia, D.D.S., M.P.H., and the help and collaboration of many in the Office of Education.

Spotlight on Dental Education served as a day to recognize the many people who contribute to making the University of Florida College of Dentistry educational programs great – from faculty to students to teaching assistants and a number of committees that keep the educational wheels turning in the college.

Dr. Black’s luncheon presentation was titled “Considering Innovation in Contemporary Education.”

Erik Black, Ph.D., assistant professor of pediatrics and educational technology in the College of Medicine at UF, served as the Spotlight on Dental Education Luncheon keynote speaker. Black’s presentation focused on innovation in contemporary education through the one hour lunch-and-learn that sparked thoughtful conversation and dialogue.

To cap off the day, a number of awards were presented at the Spotlight on Dental Education Reception. In addition to the traditional clinical and basic sciences Teacher of the Year Awards, all tutors and teaching assistants from the Class of 2017 were recognized, as well as members of two committees: the Student Performance Evaluation Committee and the Curriculum Committee.

New this year, the college awarded seven exemplary teaching awards, five Excellence in Teaching honors and two Sustained Excellence in Teaching awards.

Exemplary Teaching Awards

Selected by selection committee

Sustained Excellence in Teaching

  • Tarek El-Kerdani, D.D.S., M.S.D., F.A.C.P.
  • Indraneel Bhattacharyya, D.M.D., M.S.

Excellence in Teaching

  • Joseph Katz, D.M.D.
  • Patricia N.R. Pereira, D.D.S., Ph.D.
  • Rosalia Rey, D.D.S.
  • Sally Roushdy, D.D.S., M.S.D.
  • Ronald Watson, D.D.S.

Teacher of the Year Awardees

Teachers of the Year determined by DMD student ballot

  • Clinical Sciences: Patricia N.R. Pereira, D.D.S., Ph.D.
  • Basic Sciences: Indraneel Bhattacharyya, D.M.D., M.S.

Tutors and TAs Recognized from the Class of 2017

While the faculty members are at the forefront of educating dental students and residents, peer learning, including tutors and teaching assistants, are critical in supplementing the formal curriculum through the Peer Tutoring program at the college

  • Asher Adamec
  • Michael Aguirre
  • Josh Allore
  • Giovanni Aldama
  • Brianna Bailey
  • Daniel Buono
  • Paula Cohen
  • Wade Combs
  • Kelsey Cronauer
  • Valmir DaCosta
  • Rogelio Dela Rosa
  • Monica Iskander
  • Martin Lalama
  • Alex Hehler
  • Mahmoud Mona
  • Alison Novakovic
  • Perla Salazar
  • Alexsandro Spinuso
  • Mailis Soler
  • Ivet Romero Vazquez
  • Vanesa Vaquer
  • Christian Vidalon
  • Tyler Wahl
  • ArNelle Wright
  • Sharon Zachariah

Student Performance Evaluation Committee (SPEC) Members

Assesses student academic and conduct performance – meet regularly after hours as volunteers

  • Robert Caudle, Ph.D.
  • Walmir DaCosta
  • Alex Delgado, D.D.S., M.S.
  • Deborah Dilbone, D.M.D.
  • Stephen Howard, D.M.D., F.A.G.D.
  • Anthony Licari
  • John Neubert, D.M.D., Ph.D.
  • Patty Probert, Ph.D.
  • Joseph Riley, Ph.D.
  • Brad Sleeth
  • Venita Sposetti, D.M.D.
  • Vadim Vankov
  • Shannon Wallet, Ph.D.

Curriculum Committee Members

Ownership and responsibility of the DMD program curriculum resides solidly in the hands of the faculty: content, sequence, methods and assessment of student learning are all faculty-driven responsibilities at the UFCD

  • Andy Alvarez
  • Mauricio Castellanos, D.D.S., M.S.
  • Robert Caudle, Ph.D.
  • Gail Childs, M.P.H.
  • Deborah Dilbone, D.M.D.
  • Marcio Guelmann, D.D.S.
  • Micaela Gibbs, D.D.S.
  • Nelson Guanche
  • John Hardeman, D.D.S., M.D.
  • Christina Haskins
  • Leda Mugayar, D.D.S.
  • Katelyn Radner
  • Venita Sposetti, D.M.D.
  • Lauren Steinberg
  • Adam Tow
  • Damone Weaver
  • Charles Widmer