Katkar appointed to AAOMR and UF IRB committees

Dr. KatkarIn September 2014 Rujuta Katkar, B.D.S., M.D.S., M.S., an assistant professor in the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Diagnostic Sciences and division director of the Division of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology, was appointed to serve on the Research and Technology Committee of the American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology (AAOMR) and on the University of Florida’s Human Use of Radioisotopes and Radiation Committee (HURRC) of the UF Institutional Review Board.

Katkar, who joined the college in June 2012, will serve a three-year term on the AAOMR committee. The AAOMR is the recognized leader in oral and maxillofacial radiology, serving patients and the health professions. Their mission is to shape and advance the scientific base in OMR by fostering research; improve quality of patient care; improve access to services; support existing and nurture new OMR residency programs; and promote an optimal socio-economic environment for OMR.

She is serving as a representative of the College of Dentistry on the HURRC committee and will serve as a reviewer for research applications that use ionizing radiation.

Katkar earned her bachelor’s in dental surgery in 2003 from the Maharashtra University of Health Sciences Dental College in Sangli, India; her master’s degree in oral medicine and radiology from Nagpur University’s Dental College in Wardha, India; and her master’s in oral and maxillofacial radiology in 2011.