OKU installs new officers

Arthur Nimmo installed as president of OKUIn November the local chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU), a national dental honor society, installed a new slate of officers to serve for the 2009-10 year during the fall business meeting in Gainesville, Fla. 

Arthur Nimmo, D.D.S., F.A.C.P., a professor in the Department of Prosthodontics and director of Predoctoral Implant Dentistry at the University of Florida College of Dentistry, was installed as president of the Xi Omicron Chapter of OKU.
Donald Cohen, D.M.D., M.S., a professor in the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Diagnostic Sciences was installed as president-elect. The new vice president is Matthew Dennis, D.D.S., a clinical associate professor in the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial surgery. Ronald Watson, D.D.S., an associate professor of in the Department of Operative Dentistry, continued in his role as secretary-treasurer.  Ulrich Foerster, D.D.S., a clinical associate professor in the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, is the immediate past president.

Omicron Kappa Upsilon began in 1914 at Northwestern University Dental School. A committee from this group petitioned the faculty of the school saying they were “desirous of organizing and funding a national honorary fraternity similar to other honorary fraternities now existing in the leading universities . . . but which shall consist of dental students exclusively; admission and membership to which shall be based upon scholarship and character as manifested by election by the faculty.”

The Xi Omicron Chapter was chartered in 1974 with 20 UF College of Dentistry faculty members from various chapters around the country.

Dr. Donald Cohen, Dr. Ulrich Foerster; Dr. Arthur Nimmo, Dr. Matthew Dennis, Dr. Ronald Watson
OKU Officers for 2009 – 2010 are pictured from left: Dr. Donald Cohen, president-elect; Dr. Ulrich Foerster, immediate past president; Dr. Arthur Nimmo, president; Dr. Matthew Dennis, vice president; Dr. Ronald Watson, secretary-treasurer.