Dental faculty elected to national dental honor society

Dr. Ronald Watson, Dr. Robert A. Burne, Dr. Charles G. Widmer, Dr. Arthur Nimmo
From left: Dr. Ronald Watson, OKU Treasurer, Dr. Robert A. Burne, honorary member, Dr. Charles G. Widmer, faculty member, Dr. Arthur Nimmo, OKU Vice President.

Charles G. Widmer, D.D.S., Ph.D., associate professor of orthodontics, and Robert A. Burne, Ph.D., professor and chairman of oral biology, were elected to membership in the national dental honor society, Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU). Burne is a new honorary member and Widmer is a new faculty member.

Faculty are elected to OKU on the basis of outstanding contributions to the art, science, or literature of dentistry. Widmer and Burne were inducted by the Xi Omicron section president, Dr. Indraneel Bhattacharyya, at the annual meeting in Gainesville, Fla., assisted by OKU officers, Dr. Ulrich Foerster, president-elect, Dr. Arthur Nimmo, vice president, and Dr. Ronald Watson, secretary-treasurer.