Faculty & Students Receive Awards at AADR

Published: April 18th, 2008

Category: Honors, Awards & Appointments, News

During the March annual meeting of the American Association of Dental Research (AADR) in Dallas, one UF College of Dentistry faculty member and two UF College of Dentistry students were recognized for their achievements in the field.

Dr. Ozlem Yilmaz, from the Department of Periodontology, was one of five emerging scientists selected to participate in a special symposium honoring young clinical scientists who have made a significant impact on the various fields of oral research.

The symposium, coordinated by the NIHs National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research as part of a 60th anniversary celebration, underlined oral health research and scientific inquiry over a broad field, from the basic sciences through translational research to social and behavioral sciences. The symposium was chaired by the NIDCR Career Development Director, Kevin Hardwick. The Director of NIDCR, Lawrence Tabak, made special acknowledgment for the event and personally congratulated each individual for their significant contributions.

As the first honored speaker, Dr. Yilmaz gave a presentation titled “Age of Exploration in Oral Sciences: Has P. Gingivalis Discovered the Fountain of Youth in the Gingiva.”

Monet Ducksworth, Class of 2011, honored the College of Dentistry by earning a Second Place Award in the Dentsply/Caulk Student Award Competition. This competition highlights original poster presentations by AADR student members within dental, oral health, and craniofacial research.

The competition featured 14 students from ten U.S. dental schools and awarded a total of $2,500 in cash prizes to the top three participants in both clinical and basic science research.

Maggie Wang was officially introduced during the meeting as the Secretary of the National Student Research Group of the AADR. Miss Wang also was announced during the meeting as one of the 10 dental students in the country selected for the Academic Dental Careers Fellowship Program by the American Dental Research Association (AADR) and the American Dental Education Association (ADEA).

We are proud to have Dr. Yilmaz, and Miss Ducksworth and Miss Wang as representatives of the College of Dentistry and the Gator Nation.