Superior COD Employees Honored

Eleven College of Dentistry employees were recognized during the UF Superior Accomplishments Award Ceremony for Division Five on Thursday, March 13 at the Savannah Grande. The awards, presented each spring semester, recognize staff and faculty members who contribute outstanding and meritorious service, efficiency and/or economy, or to the quality of life for students and employees.

The awards committee considers excellence in overall job performance; outstanding service to students, staff, academic personnel, visitors, and university clientele; willingness to assist beyond normal expectations; dedication to the job and the university; consistent cooperation and helpfulness; and initiative and/or creativity in performing assigned duties.

Division Five includes the colleges of Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Public Health & Health Professions, Veterinary Medicine, and the Student Health Care Center.

The College of Dentistry winners are:

Elizabeth P. Apple
Senior Clerk, Clinic Administration

Mark E. Davis, DDS
Clinical Associate Professor, Operative Dentistry

David Flores
Maintenance Mechanic, Clinic Administration

Ruthie E. Hernandez
Dental Assistant Supervisor, Hialeah Dental Clinic

Melissa M. Long
Coordinator III, Human Resources, Dean’s Office

Robert M. Mann
Coordinator II, Clinical Programs, Prosthodontics

Edgar O’Neill, DDS, MS, SACP
Clinical Associate Professor, Prosthodontics

Karen S. Owens
Program Assistant, Pediatric Dentistry

Mitchell C. Salisbury
Financial Assistance Counselor, Prosthodontics

K. David Stillwell, DDS, MS, FACP
Clinical Associate Professor, Operative Dentistry

Theresa Weber
Senior Clerk, Operative Dentistry

Awards are given in six categories, first at the divisional level and then at the university level: clerical/office support, support services, scientific/technical, administrative/supervisory, administrative/professional, and academic personnel.

Our COD winners received cash awards of $200 each and will compete for university-level awards, which offer eight $1,000 and six $2,000 cash awards.

UF Superior Accomplishments Award winners, 2008
From left: Mitchell Salisbury, Karen Owens, Dr. Edgar ONeill, Robert Mann, Elizabeth Apple, Dr. Mark Davis, David Flores, Melissa Long, Ruthie Hernandez, Dr. David Stillwell, Theresa Weber and Dr. Teresa Dolan, dean.