

To: UF College of Dentistry,

I am proud to announce that Neel Bhattacharyya and Marc Ottenga were voted 2013-14 Teachers of the Year for the college.

These awards are not appointed by the dean or voted on by the faculty. These awards are selected by a vote of the sophomore, junior and senior students who receive ballots and select a teacher of the year in the basic sciences and clinical sciences categories. These awards, therefore, are a special honor for any faculty member because knowing you've influenced your students in such a meaningful way is very valuable to a dedicated teacher.

It is also telling that both of this year's recipients have received this award before. That speaks to the consistency of their commitment as a teacher and it also tells me that we are extremely fortunate to have them as part of our college.

The awards will be officially presented during a ceremony on April 8, 2014, hosted by UF President Bernie Machen, that honors Teachers of the Year from across the campus. Teachers of the Year also receive a \$2,000 award and a plague.

Have a great weekend, Boyd Robinson, D.D.S., M.Ed. Interim Dean UFCollege of Dentistry Those who know, do. Those that understand, teach. ~ Aristotle



**Neel Bhattacharyya**, D.M.D., M.S., received the Basic Sciences Teachers of the Year Award. Bhattacharyya is an associate professor in the Department of Oral & Maxillofacial Sciences. He joined the college in 2003 and also received the Teacher of the Year Award in 2004-05 and in 2010-11. *Bhattacharyya is on the far left, second row. Shown during a mission trip to Ecuador in 2012.* 



Marc Ottenga, D.D.S., a clinical professor in the Department of Restorative Dental Sciences, received the Clinical Sciences Teachers of the Year Award. He joined the college in 2004 and also was the recipient of the Teacher of the Year Award for 2005-06.

F FLORIDA College of Dentistry