Menu UF Health Home Menu


The department of Orthodontics graduated its first class in 1979. We have over 80 orthodontic alumni practicing throughout Florida, the U.S., and the world.

Orthogators, our orthodontic alumni association, is actively involved in supporting the Department of Orthodontics. Every fall, alumni and friends gather for our annual Orthogators meeting for fellowship and continuing education. Recently, nationally recognized orthodontic speakers such as Vince Kokich, Larry Andrews, James McNamara, and Anoop Sondhi have been brought in to lecture at this event.

Our alumni are active throughout the Southern Association of Orthodontists and Florida Association of Orthodontists, with several members serving noteworthy leadership roles including President of the FAO. We are very proud of the support our alumni provides our department. It is because of their hard work and contributions that we continue to be an outstanding program.

Recently, renovations were completed for the graduate orthodontic clinic, turning it into a state-of-the-art teaching facility. This renovation would not have been possible without the efforts of our alumni and we greatly appreciate their support.

Alumni List

Name Year graduated Where practicing
Steve Chapman 1979 Palatka, Fla.
Stephen Paige 1979 Deceased
Malcolm Steen 1980 Deland, Fla.
Ann Wilson 1980 Port St. Lucie, Fla.
Michael Aguirre 1981 Gainesville, Fla.
James Gray 1981 Roswell, Ga.
Andrew Alexander 1982 Deceased
Robert Goldie 1982 Orlando, Fla.
Pete Bougas, Jr. 1983 Snellville, Ga.
James Morrish 1983 Bradenton, Fla.
Michael McDuffie 1984 Daphne, Ala.
Howard Vincent 1984 Charleston, S.C.
Mark Stewart 1985 Melbourne, Fla.
Tim Bridges 1985 Deceased
Joe LeCompte 1986 Port Orange, Fla.
Jeff Thompson 1986 Bradenton, Fla.
Abbas Mohammed 1986 Abu Dhabi, U.A.E.
Thomas Epps 1987 Rock Hill, S.C.
Anne Hamilton 1987 Naples, Fla.
Mark Justice 1988 Lithia Springs, Ga.
Cecilia Martin 1988 Lake City, Fla.
Kok-tow Ng 1988 Jacksonville, Fla.
Tim Wheeler 1988 Gainesville, Fla.
Liz Gesenhues 1989 Jacksonville, Fla.
Belen Hernandez 1989 Ponce, Puerto Rico
Tim Poppell 1989 Debary, Fla.
Kay O’Leary 1990 Port Charlotte, Fla.
Janet Pappas 1990 Gainesville, Fla.
Patricia Tapley 1990 Gainesville, Fla.
Mike Kania 1991 Asheboro, N.C.
Jay Gibson 1991 San Antonio, Texas
Ron Hirata 1991 Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Rose Sheats 1993 Chapel Hill, N.C.
Jeff Jones 1993 Tallahassee, Fla.
Charlie Dolce 1993 Gainesville, Fla.
Jeffrey D. Barton 1994 Ceres, Calif.
Robert Ogden 1994 Windermere, Fla.
Mike Insoft 1994 St. Petersburg, Fla.
Sal Cabassa 1995 Pensacola, Fla.
Lisa Yurkiewicz 1995 Orlando, Fla.
Rosanne Bloom 1995 Ellicott City, Md.
Teresa Brigance 1996 Melbourne, Fla.
Lori Aiosa 1997 Orange Park, Fla.
Andy Cohen 1997 Hawthorne, Fla.
Lucie Casthely 1998 Miami, Fla.
Diana Nekuyi-Malone 1998 Sarasota, Fla.
Rosie Aviles 1998 Palm City, Fla.
Alan Ossi 1999 Jacksonville, Fla.
Paul Johnson 1999 Palm Coast, Fla.
Jon Stowers 1999 Masonville, Colo.
Yossi Bar-Zion 2000 Newbury Park, Calif.
Lisa Babb 2000 Capitola, Calif.
Don Wexler 2000 Spring Hill, Fla.
Randy Schader 2001 Philadelphia, Pa.
Sophia Scantlebury 2001 New York, N.Y.
Jim Wortham 2001 Clermont, Fla.
Heather Burch 2002 Tallahassee, Fla.
Leandra Dopazo 2002 Gainesville, Fla.
Debbie Ferrer 2002 Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
Brett Lawton 2003 Winter Park, Fla.
Jeremy Albert 2003 Clearwater, Fla.
Arvind Vakani 2003 Stuart, Fla.
Shari Durrett 2004 Tampa, Fla.
Lisamarie Brazeau 2004 East Wenatchee, Wash.
Kary Nekula Marris 2004 Orlando, Fla.
Reid Montini 2005 Gainesville, Fla.
Kevin Miller 2005 Rockhill, S.C.
Sarah Pavlow 2005 Philadelphia, Pa.
Rita Hurst 2006 St. Petersburg, Fla.
Valerie Minor 2006 Fernandina Beach, Fla.
Anzir Moopen 2006 Orlando, Fla.
Juddson Reed 2006 Ocala, Fla.
Aaron Carroll 2007 Sarasota, Fla.
Dave Chen 2007 Sacramento, Calif.
Eric Park 2007 Acworth, Ga.
Mike Sutton 2007 Sarasota, Fla.
Daniel Jones 2008 Ocala, Fla.
Shreena Patel 2008 Jacksonville, Fla.
Melanie Wexel Spears 2008 Richmond, Va.
Noelle Williams 2008 Orlando, Fla.
Ben Campbell 2009 Lynchburg, Va.
Brion Long 2009 Orlando, Fla.
John Metz 2009 Land O’ Lakes, Fla.
Vo Danh Nguyen 2009 Winter Park, Fla.
Carl Drake 2010 Normal, Ill.
Allison Harris 2010 Deland, Fla.
David Mansour 2010 Kissimmee, Fla.
Katie Miller 2010 Dothan, Ala.
Richard Donatelli 2011 Gainesville, Fla.
Camden Doughtie 2011 Charlottesville, Va.
Brad Mokris 2011 Fort Mill, S.C.